My 5 Fall Essentials

I’ve always embraced change pretty easily. Being in the same situation, the same outfit or same routine bores me after sometime. The change of a season especially summer to winter always excites my soul. For some reason it gives me that sense of a new beginning and a new chance to change myself. Finally, after patiently waiting the last few months fall has arrived. I always love this time of year but in the city I live in, it can take awhile to cool down. So while most the country is already sporting scarves and boots, anyone in El Paso caught wearing those might also be sweating up a storm. Fortunately, the days here are getting cooler and even more are the nights. Here are the things I love to bring out of my closet when entering the cool air and cozy nights.

  1. Blazers.

20121112-164027.jpg

These absolutely are one of my must have pieces because they are so classic and they look good with practically anything from dresses, skinny jeans, even some shorts with tights. I love that I can wear them hanging out with my boyfriend and look cute and then go to work and look somewhat professional! I collect blazers in all different colors but if you just want/need one a black will work with most outfits and you can use it year after year. If you want to stand out a patterned blazer will do the trick or one in a bold color like pink. While I like to get mine fitted perfectly and hanging on my hips, there are so many styles to choose from. This year I got a trendy shrunken black blazer with spikes on the shoulder pads.

  1. Red quilted handbag from Bebe.

20121112-163627.jpg

This bag was a birthday gift from my boyfriend. I tend to keep it with my fall/winter wardrobe because the colors are more earthy and dark and the bag can liven up my outfits with a dash of color. Its a simple small bag with a shoulder strap and quilted to look somewhat like the infamous Chanel bags. The fact that its smaller than the bags I normally haul around for summer, makes me cut out all the extra junk I can lug around, making it easier for me to fir the essentials: cell, phone, cards, etc.

  1. Belts. Okay so that one was plural but belts are an accessory that is often overlooked. In the colder months we start layering our clothes and a belt can help cinch your waist and bring everything making you look more polished and less frumpy! When I wear pants or jeans skinny belts are also another way to make your outfit pop in a subtle way. After all, its the smallest things that make the biggest difference. I love leopard print skinny belts!
  2. Black Booties. Without fail, these boots show up every year for fall, and how could they not! They are another staple item you will want in your closet to bring out every year. I like to use my booties for the beginning of the fall/winter season because they are so small it doesn’t take up much time or space to wear them compared to the longer boot styles, I keep those for when its really cold! Booties go with everything from skirts and dresses to jeans and leggings, but best of all they keep your feet warm. Last year I purchased some beautiful suede black booties by Jessica Simpson (bargain price at TJ MAXX) sadly, they got ruined in the rain, so I am now on a mission for the new perfect pair.
  3. Last, but certainly not least, is LIP BALM. This is an essential for all year but its extra important in the colder months. Nobody wants to be kissing someone with dry scratchy lips. Especially if you have a fuller pout, its not even nice to watch you speak if you have chapped lips. Right now I am loving the EOS balls (the mint is my favorite) and the Sugar Rose Lip Balm by Fresh. I received two recently as a gift from Sephora and was instantly hooked! They keep your lips so moisturized and they feel so good. I love the tin packaging they come in also! I chose to re-purchase the rose tinted one because it gives a little bit of color to my face my lips still look natural and perfectly smoochable!

There you have it! My must haves for entering the fall season and once I have them I’m ready to conquer the rest of my year! What are your fall favorites? Feel free to share with me especially any products you think I may be interested in!

Leave a Reply

